Beef and honey stew

This is a dish I’ve cooked a few times before and I wanted to put it on here as it’s quite simple but very tasty.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/beef_and_honey_stew_47298

You don’t need many ingredients and the preparation is straightforward. The only real complication is the cooking time; between 2 to 4 hours so good if you have many other things to do in your home while it is cooking or you are happy to leave it cooking while you are out.

I bought beef that was already chopped but otherwise cutting the meat would be the first step. After covering in flour (I did it on a plate rather than the recommended bag method) and cooking in batches until brown, I cooked the onion and then added the remaining ingredients along with the cooked beef.

Valencian honey!

Final steps

I cooked it for 4 hours and the meat was very tender. I added the potatoes at the end but I would say they took 40 mins to cook rather than the 20 stated (I’m sure cutting them into smaller pieces would have negated this issue).

I cooked this recipe for guests who were trying it for the first time and they seemed to like it a lot so a good sign!

3 Comments

Filed under Beef, Casserole, Food, Recipes, Slow cooking, Stew

3 responses to “Beef and honey stew

  1. Karmen

    So many things I’m gonna have to try when I’m fully recovered… It looks delicious, cuinera! Ah, I also loved the picture that reads “Valencian honey”! Well done, once again, superteam!

  2. Thanks!!! It was fun to make and eat 🙂

Leave a Reply

