The swimming chicken!

I actually made this last weekend but it’s been a busy time starting a new job hence the delay in posting!  It is based on Heston Blumental’s perfect chicken recipe and for those who don’t know him; he is a British chef who likes to use the science of food.  So for this roast chicken, I had to undertake a few additional steps to my usual way of cooking!

First thing is to brine the chicken.  That is to soak it in salted water for about 8 hours which has the result of keeping in the moisture when cooking the chicken.  Heston thinks many roast chickens are dry and as they are made up of 80% water, they key is to keep this moisture in.  I’m no scientist so I won’t attempt to explain this in any more detail but google is always on hand!

I did not follow Heston’s recipe exactly but here is the link in case anyone wants to or for a few more basic details of the recipe and ingredients:

http://www.channel4.com/4food/recipes/chefs/heston-blumenthal/roast-chicken-recipe

After the brining process, I squirted lemon juice inside the cavity of the chicken (I did not have a lemon in the fridge, nor one ready on my tree!) along with some thyme.  I rubbed the skin with butter and put in the oven for about 2 hours on 100 degrees (the lowest our little oven will go to – remember the name of this blog; la cuineta – the little kitchen, and you can see the little oven below!).

I then rested the chicken outside the oven for about 30 mins and in the meantime par-boiled some roast potatoes and carrots for 10 mins before putting them in the (now empty) roasting tin for 30 mins at about 200 degrees.  I turned the oven up to the highest temperature (250 degrees) and then put the chicken back in along with the potatoes and carrots for about 15 mins.

Finally, I carved and served along with gravy.  I’m afraid I cheated here and made my more traditional gravy using a bit of the juices from the roasting tin along with Bisto granules and some freshly ground pepper.  Maybe next time I attempt the gravy also!

I have to say the result of all this is fantastic!  If I were a scientist maybe I could experiment to see whether the brining or the slow cooking has the greatest effect but I can say, the two combined do produce a really succulent chicken and I would definitely recommend making the extra effort of brining before cooking.  The chicken literally falls apart as you carve and eat and it surely is close to being a perfect roast chicken!

3 Comments

Filed under Chicken, English, Food, Recipes, Slow cooking

3 responses to “The swimming chicken!

  1. Karmen

    It looks really tasty and tender, Annie! The picture on the top is just fantastic. It made me drool instantly. 🙂

  2. Kristine

    Looks great even to a non-chicken lover like me!

  3. Thanks for the feedback! Drooling and appealing to a non-chicken lover is praise indeed 🙂

Leave a Reply

