Risotto

I have been blogging for about two months now and am still enjoying it a lot.  I’m not cooking or blogging as much as I would like but it is more a question of time than anything else!

So after two months, I’ve finally managed to cook one of my favourite recipes and one that I’ve always got good feedback on from friends and family.  Also it will give me a chance to adapt the leftovers into a reblog very soon…

But first, the risotto!  I tend to keep the recipe quite flexible apart from a few staple ingredients of chicken, rice, chicken stock, butter, parmesan and porcini mushrooms.  I will list the full ingredients at the end of the recipe but just to say you can be flexible on the meat, fish and vegetables that you might want to use!

The first step is to fry a little butter and cook the chicken, peppers and asparagus until the chicken is starting to be golden.  Then add the onions and fresh mushrooms and cook for a couple more minutes before adding the garlic for one minute.  Then add the wine and the rice, meanwhile making the chicken stock.

With the stock I am also quite flexible with the amount!  The main thing is to have enough to cook the rice for long enough that it is not too hard (some people like a bit of bite to their rice in a risotto but my dining companions never have so I make sure it is fully cooked!).  So if I need more stock I just boil more water adding more stock cubes to the water if necessary.  At the point of making the stock I also soak the porcini mushrooms in boiling water for 10 mins or so, until needed.

With the stock, the key is adding it bit by bit (or ladle by ladle) so the rice has time to cook before adding more.  If you work on the theory that you need the process to last at least as long as it says on the packet of the rice to cook, then it is a good starting point.  Usually I would say it takes about 30 mins though; the adding, absorbing, adding stock process and it’s important to be present during all of the process to prevent the rice sticking or even worse, burning!  During the stock process I also added some basil, oregano and parsley as well as salt and pepper.

Once the rice is close to cooking I added the chopped porcini mushrooms along with the fresh chives and cooked in the risotto until the rice was fully cooked.

The final step is to add more butter and parmesan cheese, give a good stir and serve.

For me, I don’t think risotto is that complicated.  It definitely takes time and you have to be patient but if you get the stock part right and add butter and parmesan cheese, you get the result of a rich risotto!

I managed to cook enough for 6 people so as I said, I will be using the leftovers to reblog a great post I found from a fellow blogger…tbc…

Ingredients (serves 4-6)

  • 50g of butter (25g at the beginning, 25g at the end)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • Half an onion
  • 1 chicken breast
  • 6 asparagus sticks
  • 1/4 green pepper
  • 1/4 red pepper
  • Half a pack of closed cup mushrooms
  • 500g of arborio rice
  • Chicken stock (one small saucepan full!)
  • 1 tablespoon of porcini dried mushrooms
  • Half a glass of white wine
  • 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh chives
  • 1/2 teaspoon of oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon of basil
  • 1 teaspoon of parsley
  • Salt and pepper
  • 40g of parmesan cheese
7 Comments

Filed under Chicken, Food, Herbs, Italian, Recipes, Rice, Vegetables

7 responses to “Risotto

  1. I’m glad you’re enjoying it :D. We all go through busy/no so busy periods of lots of blogging or a relatively small amount – it doesn’t matter. As long as what you do produce is of good quality, who cares? This, thankfully, look really rather nice!

  2. Keep up the good work of blogging, as we are enjoying it all! The risotto looks great.

  3. Pingback: First attempt at arancini | creations from la cuineta

  4. Pingback: Sunday lunch with friends! Featuring strawberries and cherry tomatoes in a Cava sabayon sauce (Sabayon de Cava avec fraises et tomates cerises) | creations from la cuineta

  5. Pingback: Cava sabayon with strawberries and cherry tomatoes (Sabayon de Cava avec fraises et tomates cerises) – Sunday lunch with friends! | creations from la cuineta

Leave a Reply

