First attempt at arancini

Not sure I am doing this reblogging correctly but you can see the original post which was my inspiration below!  Many thanks to Frugalfeeding for the idea (you can also access through the link below – it’s a great site with many mouth watering and inspiring pictures):

http://frugalfeeding.com/2012/04/21/baked-rosemary-and-garlic-arancini/

I’ve wanted to create this for a while and as I had so much leftover risotto, it was the perfect opportunity!  For the ingredients for the risotto base you can see the recipe below or here:

https://creationsfromlacuineta.wordpress.com/2012/05/28/risotto/

I left the risotto in the fridge overnight and then put a bit of plain flour on one plate, 1/4 of a baguette worth of breadcrumbs (!) on another plate and one beaten egg in a bowl.

I made 8 balls of risotto (for size guide see the pictures) and rolled in the flour, then the egg and finally the breadcrumbs.  I put them on an oiled baking tray and cooked in the oven for about 25 minutes on 200 degrees by which time they had a nice golden colour.

The result;  great!  Very tasty and a nice alternative to traditional risotto.  I think they would be great as a starter to a dinner party.  However, I love risotto and for me, it is quite a time investment so I think unless I had a lot of leftovers, I would serve risotto as risotto, plain and simple!

3 Comments

Filed under Chicken, Food, Herbs, Italian, Recipes, Rice, Starter, Uncategorized

3 responses to “First attempt at arancini

  1. Thank you for posting this recipe! I have been searching for a good one for a long time. I always get this as an appetizer at a favorite restaurant of mine but can never remember the name of it when I get back home to look up how to make it! I’ll be trying this soon!

  2. Kristine

    These look great and I’m not sure I’ve heard of them before. I really like that they’re done in the oven rather than fried. Definitely a recipe to try.

Leave a Reply

