Chicken, bacon, leek and mushroom pie

image

So another month has passed and I think I have done less cooking in this time than in a long time.  I’ve not been home much and I’ve really missed cooking!  So this weekend I did a couple of recipes but one has already been featured on here (Chicken Chow Mein) so my “feature” for this blog is chicken and mushroom pie.  When I built this blog and the about me page, there was definitely a pie theme going on so it was about time a full recipe made it on here!  This also coincides well with the purchase of a new recipe book; Pies, Glorious Pies!

I’ve opted for what I thought was quite an easy recipe but having never really had any problems with making pastry before, today was going to be the day what with me having to put pictures on here!

I made the pastry first by sifting the flour into a bowl and mixing by hand with chilled, chopped butter.  I say sifting but I probably sifted about half before I got bored and tipped the non-sifted part into the bowl.  The recipe book states that you can use a food processor to make the pastry but I prefer to make by hand so I can feel and see the texture well.

imageimage

After the mixture resembled bread crumbs, I added the 2 egg yolks and water and mixed until it made a dough.  I then attempted to knead until smooth but I think maybe I did not knead for long enough although the dough did look like a nice shaped ball!

image

image

image

image

I wrapped the dough in cling film and left in the fridge for 30 mins.

In the meantime, I chopped the chicken and added this to the pie dish along with the lardons.  I quartered a few mushrooms and added this to the dish with one chopped leek.  I also added salt, pepper and one teaspoon of dried parsley.  It seems I forgot to buy the fresh parsley when I went food shopping yesterday….

image

image

image

I then poured in the stock/worcestershire sauce mixture over the top before going back to the pastry.

I lightly floured the surface and then started rolling out the pastry with a rolling pin.

image

The pastry was cracking quite a bit from the beginning so when I picked it up it fell apart quite easily so there was no way of putting it on top of the pie mixture!  I put the dough back together with a bit more of water and egg and tried again.  It was better this time but still there were a few cracks so not the perfect pie topping I was looking for 😦  These are the best photos I could get…

imageimage

I cooked the pie for 1.5 hours on 180 degrees and served it along with some mangetout and carrots.  While it did not look the prettiest pie in the world, the most important part was that it tasted great 🙂  A lot of flavour and for me, a real taste of home!

image

Ingredients

Rich shortcrust pastry

  • 250g plain flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 125g unsalted butter, chilled and diced
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2-3 tablespoons of ice-cold water

Pie filling

  • 1.5 chicken breasts
  • 150g bacon lardons
  • 1 leek
  • 100g mushrooms
  • 1 teaspoon of dried parsley
  • 2 teaspoons of worcester sauce (or soy sauce)
  • 4 tablespoons of chicken stock
  • 1 egg, beaten with a pinch of salt
  • Salt and pepper
1 Comment

Filed under Chicken, English, Food, Pie, Pies, Recipes, Uncategorized

One response to “Chicken, bacon, leek and mushroom pie

  1. Montse

    Very tasty indeed! Thanks to my favourite cook!:)

Leave a Reply

