Chicken Caesar salad

image

Having just come back from a trip home and watching a friend eat a very tasty looking caesar salad, I thought it was time to make this dish.  Also a trip home results in a lot of eating, so I wanted to feature a salad as my next recipe in an attempt of correcting this.  Unfortunately due to the amount of mayonnaise in this dish, I think I achieved the opposite but it was delicious anyway!

The recipe is loosely based on this:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/classicchickencaesar_86187

However, as I don’t particularly like anchovies or croutons I omitted these.  I’m also going through a phase of not liking garlic so much so I omitted this also as I thought raw garlic might be overpowering for me.

I started by cooking one chicken breast in the oven for 25 minutes on 180 degrees.  While the chicken was cooking, I mixed the parmesan with the white wine vinegar although I did this in a bowl rather than a blender to save on the washing up (no issues with the results of this technique!)!  I added the mayonnaise, mustard and salt and mixed some more.

image

I added the lettuce mix directly into the sauce and continued to mix.  I used a bagged salad of a few varieties of lettuce and carrot.

image

I put the salad mixture on plates and added a few strips of cured ham.

image

Once the chicken was cooked, I sliced it and added on top of the salad mix.  I used one chicken breast between two people.

image

Finally I grated some more parmesan over the top along with some freshly ground black pepper.

image

The taste was great as expected mainly due to the amount of mayonnaise in the recipe!  However, I suspect the calorie content is still much lower than you would find in a restaurant caesar salad so not so bad.  I will just have to keep it for the end of very healthy week as a weekend treat!

5 Comments

Filed under Cheese, Chicken, Food, Italian, Recipes, Salad, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Chicken Caesar salad

  1. Kristine

    Looks very tasty! Glad you had a good trip home.

  2. Emily

    Looks just lovely! One of my favourite salads!!! But where are the Nigellaesque photos I’ve come to expect? 🙂

  3. Pingback: Chicken Caesar Sandwich | creations from la cuineta

Leave a Reply

