Coriander chicken with mushrooms and a red pepper egg!

image

This post was inspired by an instagram account I follow called myhealthydish_ I really liked the look of it and it’s something different.  I wasn’t going to eat it on it’s own so had it with chicken and mushrooms to make, all in all, a healthy dish.  Usually with this kind of combination of chicken and mushrooms, I would have had potatoes or pasta so hoping an egg is an improvement health wise (another thing to google later to get the exact calorie comparison…)

I mixed some fresh chopped coriander with a teaspoon of lemon juice, a teaspoon of soy sauce, a splash or two of balsamic vinegar, half a teaspoon of coriander powder and some ground pepper.  I made a few slits in the chicken and rubbed the mixture on top.  I used one chicken breast between two people.  I cooked the chicken in the oven for 25 minutes on 190 degrees.

For the mushrooms, I heated a knob of butter and gently fried the mushrooms for about 5 mins before adding some fresh coriander and one clove of garlic.

image

image

And for the main feature, I cut two round slices of pepper (fairly thick so the egg didn’t or shouldn’t (!) spill over too much.  I fried them in oil for about two mins on each side before cracking an egg into each of them and cooking for approx. 5 mins.  I used a spoon to put more oil over the yolks every minute or so to help the cooking process.  The key is to cut the peppers very straight so they sit well in the pan and no egg leaks out.  You will see from my pictures that some did leak out but overall I was still very happy with the dish.  It’s very nice to have fun with food and the egg in the pepper certainly gave this lunch a fun element 🙂  The chicken and mushrooms were really tasty too although I think I could eat pretty much anything with coriander!  Definitely my favourite herb!  But the combinations in this dish worked really well together, I was a very happy chef!

image

image

image

2 Comments

Filed under Chicken, Food, Food blogging, Healthy, Herbs, Recipes, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Coriander chicken with mushrooms and a red pepper egg!

  1. Emily

    Wow.. Looks lovely! I like the way of doing the egg… I might just steal that one! 🙂 Yes, coriander is the herb of the gods… Love the stuff!

  2. Kristine

    Looks great. Peppers and eggs is a tasty combination!

Leave a Reply

