Ravioli con chorizo piccante (spicy chorizo and ricotta stuffed ravioli)

image

It was my birthday recently and one of the great presents I received was Gino D’Acampo’s Pasta recipe book.  I already have a pasta machine so it seemed another good opportunity to put it to good use and make a different type of pasta to what I’ve featured on this blog before.  I do remember making ravioli many years ago and thinking it was pretty fiddly.  This time was no exception and even trying the trick of making giant ravioli didn’t save me too much time!

Anyway the end result was good so it can be a once in a while, Sunday afternoon thing!

image

I started by making the pasta; mixing 2 cups of 00 flour with two eggs and drizzling over a little bit of olive oil and some salt.  I mixed it together until it became crumbly and then rolled it into a ball and started kneading for about 5 minutes (if it is too crumbly add a teaspoon of water).  I wrapped it in clingfilm and put it in the fridge for 20 mins.

image

In the meantime, I started making the filling; finely chopping 100g of chorizo and frying in a bit of oil with a teaspoon of chilli flakes (use a fresh chilli if you have it) for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally.  I let the chorizo cool in a bowl and then added 250g of ricotta and 1 tablespoon of dried parsley (again if you have it fresh, use it! – I could only see it mixed with garlic yesterday in the supermarket so had to go without).  Mix well and transfer to the fridge for 10 mins, after covering in clingfilm.

image

image

image

Back to the pasta task!  I split the dough ball into three and started flattening with my hands before moving to the pasta machine and running it through all the settings until I reached the thinnest one.  Make sure you keep the sheets well floured during this process to prevent sticking.  The pasta sheets were so long I had to halve them again so in the end I had 6 fairly long sheets.

image

image

image

I let them dry a little and then placed them on a floured surface.  I added a teaspoon of the mixture about 4cm apart on one sheet and brushed the space between the fillings with some beaten egg.  Then I placed another sheet on the top and pressed in the gaps of the fillings with my fingers and cut them using a pizza cutter (I didn’t have a special pasta cutter so no pretty edges on my ravioli 😦 )  Now if you don’t want giant ravioli, I would suggest folding each sheet over rather than using two.  Up to you!

image

image

image

image

image

image

I then put them in some fast boiling, salted water for 3 minutes before trying to arrange them on the plate.  Sprinkle over a bit of salt and pepper and drizzle over some olive oil.  From these ingredients I made 16 (giant!) raviolis so I have enough for two dinners, for two people.  I have floured the 8 that I did not cook and covered them and put them in the fridge for tomorrow.  Hopefully they will keep well!

image

image

The taste was very good!  Nice and spicy with the cheese as a contrast.  I couldn’t find ricotta in the supermarket here, so I used queso fresco which somewhere on the internet told me it was a suitable substitute (closer to cottage cheese I would say).  I think ricotta has a slightly stronger taste so would be better if you are able to get that easily!  It was time consuming but enjoyable to make and I’m looking forward to cooking another pasta dish from the book!  Especially as the intro to the book spends a long time saying pasta is in fact a very healthy carbohydrate!!!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of 00 flour
  • 3 eggs (2 for the pasta, one for brushing the made pasta)
  • 100g of chorizo
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 250g of ricotta cheese
  • 1 tablespoon of parsley
  • 1 teaspoon of dried chilli flakes
4 Comments

Filed under Cheese, Food, Food blogging, Herbs, Italian, Pasta, Recipes, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Ravioli con chorizo piccante (spicy chorizo and ricotta stuffed ravioli)

  1. Emily

    Looks lovely! You’re tempting me to get my pasta machine out and to make some, too!

  2. Dawn

    Ive been looking for a good chorizo ravioli recipe and this looks like the best. What kind of sauce do you suggest serving with this? Tia 🙂

    • It’s actually quite nice without sauce but if you want to add some I would suggest a simple bechamel or cheese sauce and then you will still be able to taste the spicy chorizo and it would go well with the other ingredients. Hope you enjoy it!!!

Leave a Reply

