Homemade chicken nuggets with Parmesan crust

20140208-084426.jpg

I first made this recipe about a month ago and while simple, it is a really nice treat! There is something quite childlike about the recipe but when making it yourself, you can feel a bit better about the healthiness of what you are eating! Actually I remember one of my first food shopping trips when I was at university and I picked up a pack of chicken nuggets. I read the back and was quite surprised to read that they contained only 45% chicken!!! That fact has stuck in my head for 15 years now so clearly had an impact!

These homemade chicken nuggets certainly contain more than 45% chicken and also, for that, they are so much tastier than any shop bought nuggets or indeed fast food outlet nuggets!

It’s just a case of using small chunks of chicken breast and rolling them first in flour, then egg and finally in breadcrumbs mixed with a little Parmesan, black pepper and olive oil. Put them on a baking tray and bake in the oven for 20 mins on 180 degrees; simple!

20140208-084325.jpg

20140208-084342.jpg

20140208-084354.jpg

In terms of measurements, it depends how many you need for the number of people you are cooking for. As a guide, I used one chicken breast, enough flour to just about cover a side plate, 1 egg and maybe a quarter of a thick baguette to blend into breadcrumbs. This made about 14 nuggets which were shared between two people.

20140208-084426.jpg

I feel like a kid when I make these so in the attempt of making the dish a little more sophisticated, I served the nuggets with a rocket, cherry tomato and mozzarella salad 😊 I also served small bowls of sweet chilli sauce to dip the nuggets in 😊

20140208-084411.jpg

20140208-084436.jpg

This was perfect for a quiet Friday night in! And in answer to how my last post finished, yes I’m still ill! Not claiming this dish as a health cure but as a little treat for a quiet night, it was great!

1 Comment

Filed under Chicken, Food, Food blogging, Recipes, Salad, Uncategorized

One response to “Homemade chicken nuggets with Parmesan crust

Leave a Reply

