Cream of Jerusalem Artichoke Soup

20140306-203314.jpg

It was a very exciting day today; I got my first veg box delivery!!!  I’ve wanted to do this for a long time but always struggled with the idea of where it could be delivered when working most of the hours in a day.  I discovered last week that some people at my work were organising a once a week delivery, so I snapped up the chance to be involved.

The first box contained spinach, lettuce, carrots, spring onions and artichokes.  Part of the reason I wanted to get a veg box was to encourage me to use ingredients I hadn’t before.  Artichokes was the only one in the box that I hadn’t used, so tonight I got to work with Artichoke Soup 🙂

I loosely followed this recipe:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/creamofjerusalemarti_84614

20140306-203342.jpg

20140306-203352.jpg

20140306-203403.jpg

Although I only had 4 artichokes and I used 4 spring onions rather than an onion.  I kept the remainder of the measurements more or less the same and it resulted in a very tasty and creamy soup.  I am a very happy cook right now!!!

One warning on this recipe; having never peeled and cut an artichoke before, I have to say it wasn’t the easiest process!  I watched a couple of youtube videos which helped me more or less.  Even though they mention the speed of oxidisation I was pretty shocked at just how fast this happens.  Therefore, definitely have a bowl of water and lemon ready to put the chopped artichokes straight into!  Also I wasn’t 100% sure that I got all the bits I should but the soup tasted good and didn’t have hard pieces in it so that was what I was hoping for at least 🙂

20140306-203332.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Food blogging, Healthy, Recipes, Soup, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cream of Jerusalem Artichoke Soup

  1. Ani

    So glad that artichokes are almost in season!!

  2. Karmen

    Hi, Annie! This looks great! Congratulations on your first vegetables box delivery! It sounds like a cool idea!

Leave a Reply

